Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

Reykjavik Open Starts Today - Live Commentary Here on Chess.com/TV

  • PeterDoggers
  • on 04/03/14 03:13.

Today the 29th Reykjavik Open will take off in Harpa, the concert hall and conference centre in Reykjavík, Iceland. More than 250 players from over 40 different federations will play, with Arkadij Naiditsch (Germany) and Li Chao (China) as the top favorites. Live commentary from the playing hall will be available every round at Chess.com/TV.

The Reykjavik Open 2014 will be held for the 29th time from March 4th to March 12th 2014 in Harpa, the 28.000 sqm. concert hall in the capital of Iceland. This year the 50th anniversary is celebrated: in 1964 the first edition was won by Mikhail Tal with the record score of 12½ points out of 13.

The tournament was initially held every two years, but has since 2008 taken place every year. It was closed in its early years, but has been an open event since the 1980s. Throughout its history the Reykjavik Open has featured many of the strongest chess players in the world at the time, including Mikhail Tal, Nona Gaprindashvili, David Bronstein, Vasili Smyslov, Bent Larsen, Friðrik Ólafsson, Mark Taimanov, Lev Polugaevsky, Jan Timman, Victor Korchnoi, Samuel Reshevsky, Anthony Miles, Nigel Short, Hikaru Nakamura, Judit Polgar, Magnus Carlsen, Alexander Grischuk, Fabiano Caruana and Hou Yifan.

This year the tournament will again be bigger than ever: more than 250 players from over 40 different federations will participate. Arkadij Naiditsch (Germany) and Li Chao (China), both 2700+ GMs, will be the top favorites.

This year Reykjavik Open partners with Chess.com and as a result you can enjoy a live commentary show, hosted by FM Ingvar Johannesson (zibbit on Chess.com!) who is assisted by Fiona Steil-Antoni. And, of course, we're expecting many GM guests! Here's the schedule:

Date Day Time Event
March 4th Tuesday 16:00 GMT / 11:00 EST / 08:00 PST Opening ceremony
16:30 GMT / 11:30 EST / 08:30 PST 1st round
March 5th Wednesday 09:30 GMT / 4:30 EST / 1:30 PST 2nd round
16:30 GMT / 11:30 EST / 08:30 PST 3rd round
March 6th Thursday 16:30 GMT / 11:30 EST / 08:30 PST 4th round
March 7th Friday 16:30 GMT / 11:30 EST / 08:30 PST 5th round
March 8th Saturday 13:00 GMT / 08:00 EST / 05:00 PST 6th round
March 9th Sunday 13:00 GMT / 08:00 EST / 05:00 PST 7th round
March 10th Monday 16:30 GMT / 11:30 EST / 08:30 PST 8th round
March 11th Tuesday 16:30 GMT / 11:30 EST / 08:30 PST 9th round
March 12th Wednesday 12:00 GMT / 07:00 EST / 04:00 PST 10th round
March 13th Thursday 18:30 GMT / 13:30 EST / 10:30 PST Closing ceremony
Departure of participants

So don't miss the show and log into Chess.com/TV!

Leído 3956 veces 9 comentarios
3 votos

Comentarios


  • hace 8 meses

    shez79

    Are there any highlights? Where can I see them if I miss the live show?

  • hace 8 meses

    ErwinSachs

    Was there supposed to be live commentary today?

  • hace 8 meses

    steve_bute

    Does a draw qualify as an upset if you're outrated by 645 points? Canadian expert Daniel Abrahams (2055) drew Chao Li (2700) in the first round.

  • hace 8 meses

    skakmadurinn

    Magnus's dad is playing!

  • hace 8 meses

    Enthusiast14

    Lots of chess, like to watch, why not Carlsen, Anand there!

  • hace 8 meses

    skakmadurinn

    Yeeeeeaaaaahh

  • hace 8 meses

    MF chesskingdreamer

    just another question: aren't you there live at reykjavik too?

  • hace 8 meses

    pdela

    No sure if I understand why there were like a month break without any tournament being played, and now, two strongs open (Reikjavik and European Championship) are played simultaneously :S

  • hace 8 meses

    Alpenschach

    Live commentary by zibbit? Excellent!! Greatly looking forward to it!

Ir arriba

Publique su respuesta: